A whale’s death is an indictment on us all

The death of a whale always makes me sad. http://au.news.yahoo.com/video/national/watch/23631349 

It isn’t the efforts of those who tried to save the whale that bothers me, their efforts deserve our praise.

What interests me is the fact that there doesn’t seem to be any research going on to find out why these whales are beaching themselves and research into how to save them.

I mean, why doesn’t our country do more to rescue them? If it is simply a matter of the whale having beached itself and all we need to do is airlift it back out to sea, then why can’t our government or anyone for that matter provide an airlift service to the whales to get them back into the sea?

Am I being to harsh in my criticism of humanity when I say that I think our general indifference to whales is indicative of who we are as a species? I say, the death of a whale is an indictment on us all because we’d much rather see them hunted and eaten than spend energy trying to protect them and save them from harm.

Author: Robert M. Easterbrook

I'm one of those tall thin guys who looks around a lot and keeps to himself. I've recently completed a PhD, thinking it might be useful for something. I'm also a dreamer, because dreaming is far more interesting than the mundane.

Leave a Reply

